Kyoto

Posted on

Day 7: May 13, 2015
On my way to Kyoto for four days, so I’ll have time to do laundry. First, however, I need to make sense of the bus map. Egads!

Been in Japan a week and I love it. I also like living at the  minimum.

I’m puzzled by the culture of uniforms. Obviously it doesn’t apply to everyone, but those people who work for companies all wear dark suits and white shirts with dark ties; women wear skirts (not trousers) and white shirts without tie. All shoes are polished. Few wear street clothes to work. Most kids are in uniform for school, then after a few years out of uniform for university, they’re tucked in and buttoned down again. It doesn’t compare to North America to the UK. I’m not sure whats at work; profit motive, but for the company, not for oneself. I need to ask more questions.

Tatami mats are my new love. The are tightly woven grass mats edged with cotton borders. The size traditionally varies between Kyoto and Tokyo. They are spread of over the floor instead of carpets and partially explain why people remove their shoes. Some seem to have padding underneath. They’re elegant and tidy. Easy to clean? I’ll look it up. They’d look great in my bedroom.

Kimonos are becoming popular again. In Nagasaki, I noticed a young,  hip couple wearing kimonos with decidedly untraditional accessories. They posed for me. The same day I saw a young, earnest Western red-headed woman on the tram seriously reading a  Japanese book. Seated next to her were middle-aged Japanese women in regular  “Western” clothes. They glanced at the white woman more out of curiosity, I think, than anything else. She was so earnest and so serious and so out of place. I couldn’t sneak a photo.

Speaking of which, I noticed that I’ve only taken 493 photos in a week. Must take more.

A high school group just got on my car. Cute, goofy yet well-behaved and relatively quiet. I don’t see a teacher. Amazing.

Whizzing by on the shinkansen,  I see lots of temples. When I first took this train, I was enthralled with the view. Now, no so much. I still get a thrill with traditional Japanese architecture, though.

950 am Just realized I don’t have directions  to the hotel. I have an address. Must find WiFi so I don’t get lost.

1130 am arrived in Kyoto. Got lost for over an hour. Took cab to hotel.

With bus map in hand, it’s time to discover the city. Met Angus and his wife Mary from Australia  while stood waiting for the #50. Met Katie and her dad Bob, from Grimsby, Ontario, while waiting for the #205. She’s an MA student here for a radiation conference. I really enjoy this part.

Visited To-Ji Temple, a large and beautiful Buddhist temple that houses many artifacts, including an eerie Buddha that seemed to see all my good, bad, and ugly. ..then make me deal with it. Photography is forbidden inside the buildings, so I made up for it outside. One fellow I photographed was sweeping somewhat aggressively.  So I watched: he was beating away pigeons. That’s not very zen, I thought, so I asked (hand motions, short English, shorter Japanese) what he was doing. He told me  (hand motions and Japanese) that he was keeping the birds out of the shrine so they don’t shit on Buddha. I’m certain he said shit,  based on the look on his face. All smiles, he agreed to letting me take his picture. Then he was serious. After the photo, the smile returned.

Fantastic afternoon of shooting and chatting to locals. Now I need a hot shower, dinner, laundry, and an early night.

About Muse Ink

Editor & writer | feminist nerd | photographer | music geek | work in progress

Leave a comment

Whatever

TIME TO REGISTER TO VOTE

Science Fiction and Other Suspect Ruminations

Reviews of Vintage Science Fiction (1945-1985)

as I walk Toronto

through my lens - photos taken while walking the streets and alleys of Toronto.

shannon a. kornelsen

Welcome to Muse Ink, my small space on the worldwide web! You'll find commentary on books, movies, current affairs, and whatever else moves me. So have a look, have a drink, and get comfy.

homemadeheavenandhell

Attempting to remove the packages from my pantry, one bag and box at a time.

Writer Beware®: The Blog

Welcome to Muse Ink, my small space on the worldwide web! You'll find commentary on books, movies, current affairs, and whatever else moves me. So have a look, have a drink, and get comfy.

Wanderlust

At home and abroad.

Sesquiotica

Words, words, words

BoldFace

Official blog of Editors Toronto

The Editors' Weekly

Welcome to Muse Ink, my small space on the worldwide web! You'll find commentary on books, movies, current affairs, and whatever else moves me. So have a look, have a drink, and get comfy.

lumpy darkness

Welcome to Muse Ink, my small space on the worldwide web! You'll find commentary on books, movies, current affairs, and whatever else moves me. So have a look, have a drink, and get comfy.

Sentence first

An Irishman's blog about the English language.

Saturday Afternoon

at the Kavanaghs

Wig Bubbles

a blog by Allan Wigney